Love and Other Drugs

Semi-spoiler alert!

I saw Love and Other Drugs this weekend. I hadn’t seen previews and didn’t know what it was about. I was in the mood to see a movie, and that’s the one I picked. I always go to a local theatre. Their late showings are for either 18 and older or 21 and older, which is nice. I’m way over parents bringing their inappropriately young children to inappropriately mature movies. Come on. And after I got to this one I heard it was “sexy.”

However, the “sexy” didn’t bother me at all. For some reason sex scenes don’t make me uncomfortable. Well, maybe if my parents were in the room. But otherwise? I know it’s fake so it doesn’t seem awkward to me.

The thing that irritated me was the premise of the story. The two got into a relationship casually. And then fell in love. I’d like all the ladies (and guys) out there who have ever gotten into a platonic sexual relationship to speak up on whether you fell in love and lasted forever. I don’t know one single person. Romanticizing casual sex irritates me. And so many movies do it. Listen, girls, if he were interested, he would have been interested to begin with. If he wasn’t, he never will be.

Plus the dude character was way too selfish to commit his life to taking care of someone sick. He’ll be out when she starts to get more sick.

All in all, I give the movie a C. I liked the connection the characters seemed to have, and liked their relationship when it was casual. But once it got “serious” it was forced, unhappy, awkward, etc. Plus, the chairs in the theater felt like office chairs. And it was really cold. So that could have contributed. At most it was a low B.

Leave a Reply

