News Flash: Sitting Around All Day Isn’t Healthy

I was reading this article on cnn.com today about how desk jobs aren’t healthy. Duh. The problem is, I don’t even think their recommendations on moving around more through the day are realistic, sustainable or even specific. They say to get up and stretch even if it’s just for 10-15 minutes. Or to sit in a yoga pose in your chair. I definitely feel like crap sitting at a desk all day. My neck, shoulders and back hurt. I have to slouch down in my chair to be at a comfortable height with my monitor.

And I even head for a workout a few times a week on my lunch break.

But what else can I do? We have a workout room at work, so I do get up a few times in the afternoon for foos. I’ve recently started spending a few minutes a day hula hooping (don’t ask, I found a hula hoop, I wanted to revisit my youth). And I STILL feel like crap. Desk jobs definitely aren’t healthy. And active jobs are just as crappy because you’re commonly over-active with repetitive movements or out in the elements.

I should probably be using our workout room for something better like actual yoga poses, get on the elliptical for a few minutes, etc. And now that our summer wardrobe is in effect, it’s probably a lot more realistic (who is going to work up a sweat in a button down shirt and dress slacks?).

Goal: By the end of the summer consistently get up from my desk four times a day for at least 5 minutes at a time.

Leave a Reply

